chuglife

HDMI and DVI

In The Chug Way on November 23, 2009 at 3:30 pm

When I got my new LCD TV, it was all hooked up the installation team.  So, in essence, I did nothing.  Well, I drank, but that doesn’t count, does it?

Anyway, so yesterday after the football games, I am thinking that it would be cool to be able to surf the Internet during boring parts of football games.  I could hang out during the game and check stats on my big screen LCD instead of my little laptop screen.

So, laptop in hand I started looking for the best way to connect laptop to LCD TV and found out that it may not be as easy as I thought.  Apparently, there are many ways.  In this article I discovered that there are several ways to accomplish this and did not know which was right for me.

VGA, HDMI, or DVI?  Well, I found this good diagram on what is the difference between dvi and HDMI because apparently DVI and HDMI are the way to go for connecting your laptop–each of these are better than VGA.

Unfortunately, my laptop had no HDMI and I wish it did because the main difference between DVI and HDMI is that HDMI supports sound AND video.  DVI does not.  However, both provide smooth video.

Thus, in the end, I hooked up my laptop via DVI and did sound through the speaker jack into my stereo. 

Now, my laptop is fully connected and I can surf the Internet during ball games 🙂

  1. […] it would be easy until I saw all the connections on the back of my TV.  In reading about HDMI and DVI, I realized that I should hook-up everything via HDMI if […]

  2. […] HDMI and DVI, I began reading that most people have to hook up this connection using DVI, which only delivers […]

  3. […] pretty easy but one essential thing that you need to know is the difference between HDMI and DVI.  Does your computer have either or both?  If you have HDMI, which I do , your setup […]

  4. […] wish my dad were doing this.  A couple of years ago my dad asked me the difference between HDMI and DVI and with very little explanation, my dad understood everything that i was telling him.  Not so […]

Leave a Reply

